Tulum pt 2 and the ruins

c tulum pt2
Not the best start of the day. The power went out early in the morning in the whole city, meaning no aircon in the dorm. Damn, that got sweaty.
To get back my Visa card, I had my alarm set to 7:30am to go to the bank in time for the opening, but the hostel owner had given me the wrong info, because it opens at 9am and not 8…
Now I’m back again at 9am. Please gods, karma monsters and other supernatural forces, give me some good stuff now!

*Five minutes later*

Okay crap, I couldn’t have my card, and I had to contact my Swedish bank to block it, and have a new one sent to me. I’ll figure out a good address for it, probably to a new friend in Belize.
Meanwhile, this blog will now be about how to survive without a credit/debit card!

11 viewTo make the most of the day before continuing my journey tomorrow, I went to the Tulum ruins. Fewer people today (I arrived much earlier, around 10), entrance ticket is 80 pesos without a guide, but me and a friend ended up with a guide for 170 instead. Definitely worth it, because I learnt a lot about the natives, Mayans especially, who built the city around 1200, and their fascination with astronomy.

The ruins themselves were honestly nothing special. A pretty big lighthouse was the highlight, but there was nothing like the temples that can be found elsewhere in Mexico.

13 lighthouse
12 lighthouse
The tour was 40 minutes and then we could walk freely. We felt like we had already seen it all, so we biked to the beach.

Three old locals, a man and two women, were sitting in the shade as we biked the last bit on the sand to reach the beach. They were super nice, asked about my trip, offered a beer, and promised to keep an eye on the bike while we cooled down in the sea.
When we came back, I saw an outside shower there on the beach. A guard said that it’s only for the hotel guests, but as soon as he walked away, my new oldie friends started saying “hurry, take your shower now!!”
I hesitated, saying it was against the rules, but they kept insisting and encouraging me until I finally gave in and took a quick shower after all.
I’m such a rebel!

Food in Tumul (To make it easy, 20 pesos is roughly 1 USD.)15 tacos
Despite being a touristic village, there are definitely cheap places to eat. Tacos can be found everywhere, for 12-15 pesos each. They’re smaller than we’re used to though, always soft corn tortillas, and usually only have a few ingredients each. 3 are enough to get full! Home-made horchata (rice drink with almond and cinnamon) or simple fruit juices can be bought for around 15 pesos each.16 tamales
Tamales don taco has tamales for 15 each, and can come with chaya (the Mayan spinach), chicken, beans, eggs and/or many other things. Very soft and unusual, but tasty!

Las Quekas is a simple eatery with soups for 15 pesos and quesadillas (tacos but slightly bigger and cheese, but no vegetables) for 13 pesos each.

La Hoja Verde
If you want to spend a little more, this is one of the vegetarian restaurants in Tulum. They have a large amount of freshly made juices (choose 3 ingredients among things like pineapple, carrot, celery, orange, cucumber, and a lot more for 35 pesos, which is not super cheap, but certainly less than half of what you’d pay in Scandinavia), and today I tried their Nopalina salad, which ended up being another personal favorite, with vegetables and a warm tomato mix, surrounded by nacho chips. A good lighter lunch!
14 nopalina
Tomorrow I’m biking to Felipe Carrillo Puerto!

2 thoughts on “Tulum pt 2 and the ruins”

Leave a Reply

